Fairy Garden, A Street Party, Fun With Friends & a New Venture

The Beach

HellOooo everyone. Time is just flying by – I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since my last post!

I’ve been very busy with my other blog, The Jane Effect, working on my wine pairing series which I’m really enjoying – and other posts.

I also have a new venture which I’m pretty excited about – painted mugs/cups – which should be ready for sale on The Jane Effect in the next few days or so. Here’s an example of what will be on offer

MugsThe cat is my favourite! It reminds me of myself first thing in the morning 🙂

The fairy garden seemed to like it’s new home in the back yard, so I brought the other pieces from the front and spent a happy couple of hours puttering around with it.

love it! That stalk of grass you see next to the angel, was supposed to have lush leaves on it by now, but my cat and dog seem to think I planted it there just for them to eat! As a result, it’s looking a little, er, scraggly. 😦

Neil spends every Thursday at our house and we try to go to the beach, but it just seemed that the weather wasn’t so great this time – very windy – so we stayed at home and played on the patio with a tub of water. The water was meant for his boats, but it looks like he had other plans.

I think we need a toddler pool! LOL

On Friday evening, Tori took me to New Westminster where they were holding a street party of sorts. They blocked off the section of the road, set up booths, a beer & wine stand, chairs & tables, food trucks and a band and …

People brought their friends and family, their dogs and their kids

And we ate, drank, listened to some live music and chatted happily with complete strangers! It was fun!

Of course, no outing is complete without a selfie

The next day, we went for a bike ride with our usual gang. First stop Campbell Valley

It’s so peaceful here and a great place for a picnic. They also have camp grounds.

Next stop, Deroche – pronounced Da-roshe. Come on, say it with me … Da-roshe. LOL :). Deroche is a tiny little village which has one thing going for it – Deroche General Store.

This little store, in the middle of nowhere, sells the best chicken and jerky in the entire lower mainland. In fact, it could quite possibly be the best in BC or even in Canada!  I don’t get any chicken because we’re about to stop for lunch, but $5.00 buys me half a bag of jerky and I eat half of it before our lunch stop – 10 minutes down the road.

Lunch is at the Sasquatch Inn where we share a table with a few other people we know who are already there.

The first round of drinks takes forever, and you can see we’re getting a little grumpy

But we cheer up when the waitress brings all the drinks and a round of tequila shots also

After the second meal of grilled cheese in two days, I give up on my diet and resolve to start again on Monday. The men were in good spirits making us laugh with their silly jokes

And once, again, no outing is complete without a selfie. Note my hair do by Helmet!

And we were lucky enough to come across this lovely lady, which we admired until it was time to go.

All in all, a really good day filled with sunshine, good friends and laughter.

Until next time …

But First, Tequila

 

 

 

 

Please leave a comment

